Table of Contents
Reset Workflow Options
Depending on the permissions set by your institution, upon making edits and hitting “Save”, the workflow might or might not reset. This article outlines permission options and the impact those will have on resetting workflows. These permissions and outcomes apply to Academic Scheduling, Event Scheduling, Curriculum Management, and Online Catalogs.
PATH: Product Dashboard > Settings > Roles > (Select Role) > Requests
Within the request permissions for all products, two available settings are: "Edit Requests" and "Edit Requests Without Updating Workflow". These permissions are used to control what options a user has when they edit a request. However, even if these permissions are set to "DENY," the author of a request will still be able to edit their own request.
Both Permissions Set to “DENY”
If both permissions are set to "DENY", and a user edits a request, they will see the following message when they save. The message explains that saving the request will reset the workflow and disregard all existing approvals.
One or Both Permissions Set to “ALLOW”
If one or both permissions are set to "ALLOW", a user will see a dropdown that allows them to choose a request reset option.
Reset Workflow Options
Resetting the workflow means regenerating the workflow based on the workflow template defined in settings. All logic jumps and dynamic steps will be re-evaluated, and any new steps that result will be injected into the reset workflow.
There are three options for resetting a workflow:
Reset Workflow – All prior approvals will be disregarded. This is the default logic that will be implemented when a user does not have any of the extra permissions. This will reset the workflow, remove all existing approvals, and send the request back to the author step.
Reset Workflow – All prior approvals will be maintained. This action will reset the workflow but keep all existing approvals. If after the workflow resets, no new steps have been added, the workflow should remain at its current step. If any new steps were added to the workflow during the reset process, the workflow will be sent back to the first step that has not been approved.
Do Not Reset Workflow. This action will allow users to save the request without resetting the workflow.