Coursedog has a requests dashboard that allows schedule approvers to approve, reject, or ask for more information on certain kinds of requests. For details on how end users may submit a request, refer to this article.
13.2 Managing Requests
To find all incoming requests, click the 'Requests' button on the left hand navigation bar.
‘Vote Required’ includes all requests where the user must cast a vote to move the request along the workflow. For all intents and purposes, this is where users should navigate to for their ‘action items.’
‘Assigned to Me’ shows requests that the user did not create where they have already voted, have yet to vote, or where they were intended to vote before someone else force approved (and the request was therefore entirely approved, therefore no longer requiring their vote). This tab is helpful, amongst other things, for record-keeping purposes, as it shows requests the user has already voted on.
‘Created by Me’ shows the same items as ‘Assigned to Me’, but in this case the requests was created by the user themself.
On the right hand side, the user can see the status of the request, which details where it has already been approved, rejected, or if it is pending. The user may also hover over the decision column, which provides a visual representation of where the request is in the workflow:
The request type details what kind of change or exception request was made. At the top of the screen, the user can also filter by the type of request.
13.3 Request Columns and Saved Views
All request/proposal pages have a "Columns" component that allows users to configure which columns are displayed, and the order of those columns.
For example, there is a column called "Current Step Age", which indicates how long the request has been on the current step.
Users can also save the combination of columns and filters into saved views, that can easily be accessed in the top right of the Requests dashboard.
Lastly, users can export the request data into a CSV file, which will apply the filters and columns the user has selected.
13.4 Request Details
When you click inside of a request, the left hand side of the screen will show the full request. The right hand side of the screen will show the Request Toolbox, which is the interface for taking actions on a request. The user can Approve, Reject, or ask for information on the request.
13.5 Request Reset Options
Within the request permissions for all products, the following two permissions are available. These permissions are used to control what options a user has when the edit a request.
If both permissions are set to "off", and a user edits a request, they will see the following message when they save. The message explains that saving the request will reset the workflow and disregard all existing approvals.
If one or both permissions are set to "on", a user will have a dropdown allowing them to choose a request reset option, as shown below.
Reseting the workflow means regenerating the workflow based on the workflow template defined in settings. All logic jumps and dynamic steps will be re-evaluated, and any new steps that result will be injected into the reset workflow.
There are the following options for resetting a workflow:
- Reset Workflow - All prior approvals will be disregarded. This is the default logic that will be implemented when a user does not have any of the extra permissions. This will reset the workflow, remove all existing approvals, and send the request back to the author step
- Reset Workflow - All Prior approvals will be maintained. This action will reset the workflow, but keep all existing approvals. If after the workflow resets, no new steps have been added, the workflow should remain at its current step. If any new steps were added to the workflow during the reset process, the workflow will be sent back to the first step that has not been approved.
- Do Not Reset Workflow. This action will allow users to save the request without reseting the workflow