Coursedog

Submit a Ticket My Tickets
Welcome
Login  Sign up

Requesting Changes to the Catalog

Request Content Changes 

For every catalog page, users have the ability to request changes, which can often be used if they are not given direct editing access. A catalog change request can be initiated one of two ways

  1. From the home page, you can click the “Request Changes” button, which brings the user to a view where they can select a page for their request. 

  2. On the page editor for each page, there is a “Request” changes button that will initiate a request for that specific page.

Here is where you can find the "Request Changes" link on the home page:

Here is what the "Request Changes" link looks like on a specific page:

Both paths lead to the Catalog Request form, shown below:

 

The form has three inputs:

  1. Reason for Request - please specify a reason that will be seen by all request approvers

  2. Page Name - the requestor can modify the page name in the request if you like

  3. Page Content - the requestor can modify all content of the page using the same editing functionality outlined in the “Editing A Page” overview. 

There is also a “View Changes” button on the right, which will allow you to visualize all changes you have made before submitting the request. An example is shown here: 

 

 

Once a request is submitted, all approvers will be notified. The request will show up in the request dashboard, which can be used to approve the request (for approvers) or review the status of the request (for the request authors). Shown below is an example request: 

 

In the Requests dashboard, ‘Vote Required’ includes all requests where the user must cast a vote to move the request along the workflow. For all intents and purposes, this is where users should navigate to for their ‘action items’.


Assigned to Me’ shows requests  that the user did not create where they have already voted, have yet to vote, or where they were intended to vote before someone else force approved (and the request was therefore entirely approved, therefore no longer requiring their vote). This tab is helpful, amongst other things, for record-keeping purposes, as it shows requests the user has already voted on.


Created by Me’ s
hows the same items as ‘Assigned to Me’, but in this case the requests was created by the user themself.
Editing Requests

If your Role permissions set by your institution allow, the author of a request will have an "Edit Request" button on the top right corner. 

Depending on the permissions set by your institution, upon editing the event and hitting ‘Save’ the workflow might reset or not. You will be notified of the appropriate downstream effects.

Within the request permissions for all products, the following two permissions are available. These permissions are used to control what options a user has when the edit a request.

If both permissions are set to "off", and a user edits a request, they will see the following message when they save. The message explains that saving the request will reset the workflow and disregard all existing approvals.

If one or both permissions are set to "on", a user will have a dropdown allowing them to choose a request reset option, as shown below.

Reseting the workflow means regenerating the workflow based on the workflow template defined in settings. All logic jumps and dynamic steps will be re-evaluated, and any new steps that result will be injected into the reset workflow.

There are the following options for resetting a workflow:

  1. Reset Workflow - All prior approvals will be disregarded. This is the default logic that will be implemented when a user does not have any of the extra permissions. This will reset the workflow, remove all existing approvals, and send the request back to the author step
  2. Reset Workflow - All Prior approvals will be maintained. This action will reset the workflow, but keep all existing approvals. If after the workflow resets, no new steps have been added, the workflow should remain at its current step. If any new steps were added to the workflow during the reset process, the workflow will be sent back to the first step that has not been approved.
  3. Do Not Reset Workflow. This action will allow users to save the request without reseting the workflow
 

Did you find it helpful? Yes No

Send feedback
Sorry we couldn't be helpful. Help us improve this article with your feedback.