Coursedog allows institutions to set a variety of permissions by assigning roles to their users, differentiating between a faculty that makes a curriculum request and an admin that manages forms and workflows.
On your dashboard, navigate and select Settings.
Then, navigate to Roles.
There are several, delivered user roles in Coursedog Curriculum Planning to select from or you may choose to design and add a new role if one is needed.
Adding a Role
If your institution needs to add a new role, you can do so by navigating to +ADD ROLE under the Roles tab.
Each configurable role allows or limits editing access to Coursedog functionality across the platform in each of the modules.
The modules include:
Each permission can have three values:
Allow if (If permission is set to "Allow if", there is a list of conditions that can be applied).
Form Field User Control
Each form field can be configured to control what fields are visible to what user types. To set visibility, select a form field and click the dropdown titled (Visible for all roles), and select the user roles you would like the field to be visible for.
Role-based access and control
Coursedog offers Role-Based Access Control for admins to manage who can and cannot perform specific actions in the Curriculum platform. The tables below detail the specific permissions that you can manage with roles.
Reset Workflow Permissions
Permissions are used to control what options a user has when they edit a request.
If both permissions are set to "off", and a user has the "edit request" permission and edits a request, they will see the following message when they save.
The message explains that saving the request will reset the workflow and disregard all existing approvals.
If one or both permissions are set to "on", a user will have a dropdown allowing them to choose a request reset option.
Note: Resetting the workflow means regenerating the workflow based on the workflow template defined in settings. All logic jumps and dynamic steps will be re-evaluated, and any new steps that result will be injected into the reset workflow.
1. Reset Workflow - All prior approvals will be disregarded.
This is the default logic that will be implemented when a user does not have any of the extra permissions. This will reset the workflow, remove all existing approvals, and send the request back to the author step
2. Reset Workflow - All prior approvals will be maintained.
This action will reset the workflow, but keep all existing approvals. If after the workflow resets, no new steps have been added, the workflow should remain at its current step. If any new steps were added to the workflow during the reset process, the workflow will be sent back to the first step that has not been approved.
3. Do Not Reset Workflow
This action will allow users to save the request without reseting the workflow