Coursedog

Submit a Ticket My Tickets
Welcome
Login  Sign up

Setting up Rooms in Events

Setting up Rooms

To view Rooms, click on the Rooms tab on the left hand side of the screen. There are a few different ways to import rooms into Coursedog: manual entry, via CSV upload (requires Coursedog support), or via SIS integration (requires Coursedog support).


Adding a Room Manually

Adding a room can be done by clicking '+ New Room' in the Rooms tab on the event scheduler. 

The below modal will pop up for you to input the Room's details. Note that, while Room Name (oftentimes used for reporting purposes) and Room Display Name (used to determine what users will see as the room's name in the Coursedog application) are oftentimes the same in the SIS, Coursedog allows you to store both. For the purposes of Workflow Steps involving a Room Name, Coursedog will map the condition to Display Name or Room ID.

Also note that which fields are visible at this level is defined by the Room Template (found under Settings > Room Template). This page is used to build the default room record within the events management platform; you are able to define all the fields that should be associated with a room. To learn more about the Room Template, visit this page.


Adding a Room Contact 

Once you have added a room, you can click into the Room > Room Settings to manage contacts.

On the Room Settings page, click 'Add New Contact.'


Enter the Name, Email, and Phone Number information for the contact. Indicate whether or not the contact should be notified if an event using the Room is added or edited. To learn more about Automatic Event Notifications, click here.


Adding Room Images

You may add room images by selecting the images button in the Room Settings page. The administrator will see the Room image appear under the room profile in the images tab. 


The Room image will appear to users when selecting a room during event and class scheduling.


Users can click on the image to expand it for viewing purposes.


Creating a Room Workflow

To set up a workflow so that someone gets notified anytime a request in created within a room, add a workflow step to the room within the Room Settings page. The Step Name would define what this workflow will be called, for example: "Room 202 Workflow", Participants would be the folks that should be notified when this room is requested, votes required for approval defines how many approvers need to approve the request in order to be granted, and If rejected at this step defines whether a proposal returns to an author or someone else. In order for this to actually be embedded within a Workflow, the user must set up a workflow with a dynamic step (that pulls in this workflow step), as defined in Workflows for Events.


Setting Blackout Dates

Coursedog allows you to define “blackout dates,” which define dates during which a room, building or your institution will be unavailable for events. 


Setting Blackout Dates for a Room or Building: click on Room Settings and then select the Blackout Dates tab to enter the span of dates/times for which you wish to black out the room. To black out a building, do the same process in the Buildings tab.



Setting Blackout Dates for your Institution: To set blackout dates for your entire institution, click on the Settings tab, select Blackout Dates, and enter the dates/times for which you wish to blackout your campus. The Start Time and End Time reflect the blocked hours on a per day basis. In the second example below, events will not be allowed for scheduling between 7:00AM - 6:00PM from Nov 25th to Nov 27th.


Setting Blackout Dates for multiple rooms at once (i.e. Event Mass Room Blackouts): A third approach for setting blackout dates is to do so for multiple rooms all at once. To do so, navigate to Settings > Mass Room Blackouts. Each blackout is defined by a time period for the blackout and a list of filters used to dynamically determine the set of rooms to be included in the mass blackout.

This is the view when a user is editing a mass room blackout.


Note that access to this feature can be controlled in Settings > Roles. The permission used to control which users can edit this information is called 'Edit Room Mass Blackout Dates' and is depicted below.



Recurring Blackout Dates: Note that all blackout dates support the use of recurring week days for the blackout period. For each blackout period, if a user selects Use Recurring Dates, they can specify which days of the week the blackout dates will take affect. In the example below, Room 1 will be blacked out every Monday and Wednesday, between 12:00AM → 1:00AM, from Sep 14th to Sep 30th.


Checking for Conflicts with Blackout Dates: Note that the system will not alert you of any potential Event Conflicts on the "Blackout Dates Page" while creating the blackouts as it assumes all blackouts are intended and added by admins (usually during setup periods). However, the conflict will show up on the event page itself for any affected events, and users can download a report after they set the blackout dates to see if they created any new conflicts. After adding blackout dates, run the Event Conflict report by navigating to ‘Reports,’ and selecting ‘Download’ for the ‘Event Conflicts List’ report, to see if there are any events already scheduled during the blackout dates you set. 



Viewing Blackout Dates in the Calendar: In the Events, Room, Building calendar, blackout dates will now be displayed as red lines across the blocked out periods in the calendar.

  • In the Room Calendar, it will show the Room Blackout Dates, Building Blackout Dates & Institution Blackout dates
  • In the Event Calendar, it will show the Institution Blackout dates
  • In the Building Calendar, it will show the Building Blackout Dates & Institution Blackout dates



Note that the black out periods will only display in the "Week" or "Day" view.



Note: Users can still click on those blackout periods in the calendar and open the event form, because the user may or may not have the "Request Event With Conflicts" permissions.


Adding Room Setup and Teardown Services

Within Room Setttings, Rooms have a Setup services tab for users to specify if a room requires setup/teardown times, and what is the default duration of those setup/teardown times.

NOTE: If you want to auto-add setup/teardown services based on event type, the setup services shown above must be set to 'Not Required'. If they are set to 'Required' users will have to manually add the set up time. 


Required Permissions: Note that in order to edit the Setup & Teardown Services, you must have both View Rooms and Edit Rooms set to 'Allow.'


Deleting a Room

To delete a room, select the room you wish to delete, click the ‘Room Settings’ button, then click the ‘Delete Room’ button at the bottom of the page.

Did you find it helpful? Yes No

Send feedback
Sorry we couldn't be helpful. Help us improve this article with your feedback.